RSS Feed

The REAL PowerBall: Raw Vegan Sugar-Free Soy-Free Grain-Free Gluten-Free High-Protein Chocolate Cherry Cookie Dough Truffles

Posted on

I may feel like hell, I may have yet to find out if the brain damage from being chemically poisoned for the last six months plus is permanent or fully recoverable, and I may have an MRI in the morning so a neurologist can view said prospective brain damage that is scaring the hell out of my little claustrophobic self, but that doesn’t mean I can’t still be as much of a trooper as possible and play in the kitchen experimenting with new desserts!

The two raw cookie dough ball recipes (chocolate chip and oatmeal) I’ve made were good enough to warrant a new version, this time with the leftover dried tart cherries I had from the fruit and nut bars I made last week.  I wanted the cherry flavor again, but I also wanted chocolate.  Additionally, I wanted to stick to just nuts rather than nut flours and butters.  The end result is sort of a LaraBar gone wild… it’s a bit denser than the previous cookie dough balls, but still indulgent and light enough to feel like a cookie.  As I was rolling them I realized these could also be considered truffles, because they take well to toppings like hemp seeds and cacao powder.  I’ve kept with my usual sugar-free theme, but since these contain dried fruit they aren’t particularly candida friendly.  They do have a solid amount of fiber to counteract the sugars in the fruit by way of flax, though.  As always, feel free to simplify as needed or change out any ingredients you don’t care for.

Chocolate Cherry PowerBalls:

2/3 cup dried tart cherries
3 large dates
Soak fruit in warm water for 5-10 minutes, then process in mini-Cuisinart until fairly smooth.

2/3 cup nuts- I used 1/2 almonds and 1/2 walnuts
Process in same mini-processor (no need to wash in between, and you could do them together if desired) until crumbly.

Add:
1/4 cup chocolate protein powder
1/4 cup coconut oil
3 tbls raw cacao powder
3 tbls ground golden flax
2 tbls cacao nibs
1 full dropper chocolate-raspberry flavored stevia
1 tsp vanilla

Mix until combined thoroughly, then either gather into a ball or place on saran wrap and roll into a log. Refrigerate for 30-60 minutes then roll into 3/4 inch balls. If you refrigerated these as a log, they can be sliced into small cookies to save the time of rolling by hand. Delicious, protein-packed, fiber filled, and a healthy chocolate cherry treat either way!

They may not look too different from your average raw treat, but the cherry chocolate combo is heavenly. =)

About Ariane

Chef. Organic snack food brand founder. Lover of fresh produce. Raw food fanatic. Mother of three cats. Poet. Married to the best woman out there. City light painted girl. Serial sprouter. Holistically healed survivor of chronic Lyme and chemical poisoning. www.ArianeCooks.com

2 responses »

  1. Looks great!! I was just thinking I need to add tart cherries to my diet. They’re awesome for melatonin production and sleep.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

