RSS Feed

More Cookie Dough Balls! High-Fiber Raw Vegan Gluten-Free Sugar-Free Soy-Free Oatmeal Spice Bites

Posted on

Now that we’ve abolished nearly all food categories with the title alone, allow me to introduce you to these:

Recently I made chocolate chip (aka cacao nib) cookie dough bites based loosely upon this recipe, and they were damn good.  The batch of 15 1 inch balls lasted me about a week, and made me curious to try morphing other kinds of cookies into this format.

When I began my recent candida cleanse, I read that oat bran was a sound breakfast choice for an anti-candida diet, so I bought some in bulk and cooked it up expecting it to taste like oatmeal or oat groats.  Alas, it was awful- gluey, pastey, and hard to choke down no matter how much liquid I added.  The flavor itself was fine, and perfectly oaty, but the texture was something I could not abide by a second time, and it has sat in the cabinet since.  I looked up whether it’s ok to eat oat bran raw (it is), and decided to use it in a cookie dough bite recipe.

Because there is a solid amount of oat bran in these guys, I made them into itsy bitsy bites, and I’m glad I did.  They are quite filling (oat bran is mad high in fiber) and I also upped the fiber ante with chia seeds (I wanted a speckled raisin look without adding raisins).  They can be eaten as a dessert, but are filling and protein/fiber-filled enough to be a healthful breakfast or snack.  This recipe also differs from the other in that the amounts of both almond butter and almond meal are less, and coconut milk is slightly higher.  Spice amounts are suggestions, and should be adjusted to personal taste.

Itsy Bitsy  High-Fiber Raw Vegan Gluten-Free Sugar-Free Soy-Free Oatmeal Spice Cookie Dough Ball Bites:
Melt on low heat until smooth:
1/4 cup coconut oil
1/3 cup coconut milk
2 tbls almond butter
1 tbls coconut nectar
1/2 tsp vanilla
2/3 dropper each toffee and hazelnut stevia

Add:
1/2 cup almond meal
1/2 cup oat bran
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
1 1/2 tbls coconut flour
1 tbls chia seeds
1 tbls cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ginger
1/16 tsp cloves

Mix until a sticky dough forms, then refrigerate for one hour, or until completely firm. This dough is very easy to work with once firm, but far too sticky to cope with some semi-soft. You could make these into 1 inch balls and the yield would be about 20, but I made them about 1/2 an inch and yielded approximately three dozen.  Sprinkle with additional cinnamon, and toss gently to coat.

About Ariane

Chef. Organic snack food brand founder. Lover of fresh produce. Raw food fanatic. Mother of three cats. Poet. Married to the best woman out there. City light painted girl. Serial sprouter. Holistically healed survivor of chronic Lyme and chemical poisoning. www.ArianeCooks.com

3 responses »

  1. Nom! These look great. Now I’m craving raw cookie dough balls even though I just ate a huge dinner! I’ll have to come back tomorrow and see if I can give them a try. 🙂 Thanks for the shout-out!

    Reply
  2. Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

