RSS Feed

Why Be Just Awesome? You Could Be Strawesome.

Posted on

It took me a long time, but I’ve learned to love twitter.  So many random people and companies find me and my business, and I am constantly discovering new people and products too.  It’s great for the ego: I’ve been retweeted by Dr. Mercola, models Carol Alt and Anthony Anderson follow Rawk-n-Roll, and companies like iHerb and VitaCost reply with incredible speed about my customer service experiences on their sites.

One of my great twitter finds is a company called Strawesome, which manufactures glass straws.  I’ve never considered using glass straws before, and honestly had never given too much thought to the plastic straws I regularly throw in the trash because I refuse to grow up and use them regularly… I actually drink all my beverages through straws, including my daily close-to-a-gallon of water.  While I drink that water out of 16 oz mason jars and carry them with me out of the house to avoid plastic water bottles, I wasn’t really aware that there was an alternative to my plastic straw situation.  Strawesome started following both RnR and my personal account on twitter, and I noticed that their products were quite attractive.  I asked if they’d be interested in trading kale chips for glass straws; they kindly sent me two.

These things are awesome!  It took me a little while to adjust to the change in thickness, and to get used to the fact that I can’t bite down on them.  I also needed to get used to the glass-on-glass sound, but it’s a nice *clink* so that wasn’t much of a challenge.

These are similar to the ones they sent me:

 

Strawesome also sells bendy straws, colored straws, thicker smoothie and bubble tea straws, and even custom engraved straws.  If you have any straw-based needs, they’ve got you covered!

   

If you buy four or more, you get a free cleaning brush, which they have available for only $2 should you want just one or two to try first.  If ever there was an easy way to be more ecologically sound, this is it- and it’s even a pretty way to be a greener person!

 

About Ariane

Chef. Organic snack food brand founder. Lover of fresh produce. Raw food fanatic. Mother of three cats. Poet. Married to the best woman out there. City light painted girl. Serial sprouter. Holistically healed survivor of chronic Lyme and chemical poisoning. www.ArianeCooks.com

Leave a Reply

