RSS Feed

A Friendlier Kombucha

Posted on

I’m a big fan of the famous GTDave’s kombuchas, but yesterday at Erewhon (the only store nearby to get the “classic” version rather than Whole Foods’ weaker “enlightened” line)  I noticed that their price had gone up yet again, this time to $3.99.  Scanning through the other brands, I came across this:

It was cheaper, but it was also smaller; 12 oz instead of 16.  So I looked at the nutrition facts, and was completely shocked that every flavor had only two grams of sugar in the whole bottle.  Even the non-sweetened GT Dave’s have four, and fruity flavors carry 8-10.  They also have about 70-80 calories to a bottle, and Dr. Chao has only 30.  Lastly, Dr. Chao has managed to pull a gram of protein into the mix.  I figured I’d give one a try; flavors ranged from vanilla to ginkgo, and I went for the St. John’s Wort one.

Plain/herbal kombuchas are never exactly oh-my-yumness beverages compared to their fruit counterparts, which I confirmed with this one on first sip.  But a couple drops of stevia later, it’s quite good!  Also a plus over Dave’s is that when I went to their site I saw that they use organic tea and organic sugar for the brewing process.

Dr. Chao also sells vegan coffee drinks, and they aren’t even made with soy- they use almond and coconut milks.  Definitely a brand to look out for!

About Ariane

Chef. Organic snack food brand founder. Lover of fresh produce. Raw food fanatic. Mother of three cats. Poet. Married to the best woman out there. City light painted girl. Serial sprouter. Holistically healed survivor of chronic Lyme and chemical poisoning. www.ArianeCooks.com

Leave a Reply

