RSS Feed

Raw Vegan Cookie Dough Balls! (gluten, grain, soy & sugar free, anti-candida, low-carb)

Posted on

Recently I came across a recipe for sugar-free raw cookie dough balls.  I’m still following a candida-friendly diet, so I was excited to find a dessert recipe that I didn’t need to modify much, and that actually sounded tasty.  The recipe was only enough to make a single serving, so I modified it for quantity as well as to my personal tastes.  I was amazed by how similar to cookie dough these little balls taste! (Note that there are numerous almond-based ingredients; almonds are the only nut considered “safe” to eat raw on a candida diet. I ate no nuts or seeds for the first phase of the diet, but have re-incorporated almonds and hemp back in.)

Cookie Dough Balls Recipe:

Heat stovetop on low until melted and smooth:
1/4 cup coconut oil
1/4 cup almond butter
1/4 cup coconut, hemp, or almond milk
1 tbls coconut nectar
2/3 dropper each toffee and hazelnut stevia
1 tsp vanilla

Add:
3/4 cup almond meal
2 scoops protein powder (optional)
1 tbls coconut flour
1/4 cup cacao nibs
1/2 tsp salt

The recipe I modified said to roll these into balls right away, but I found the batter much too sticky for that. I refrigerated it for about half an hour, then easily formed the balls. Total yield was 15 balls.

Chocolate Cookie Substitution: replace coconut flour with 2 tbls cacao powder.

Clearly, this recipe is FAR from low-fat, but when you are creating a dessert that is raw, vegan, gluten-free, sugar-free, soy-free, low in carbs, and grain-free, the ingredients need to be made of SOMETHING besides, you know, cucumbers. Plus, I figured people were getting tired of hearing “sprouted buckwheat” in all my recipes. Coconut oil is great for overall health, and almond butter/meal is full of protein. And while the author of the original post said that 4-5 balls was a serving, I found them to be so rich that two was more than sufficient.

About Ariane

Chef. Organic snack food brand founder. Lover of fresh produce. Raw food fanatic. Mother of three cats. Poet. Married to the best woman out there. City light painted girl. Serial sprouter. Holistically healed survivor of chronic Lyme and chemical poisoning. www.ArianeCooks.com

4 responses »

  1. So glad you liked the recipe! I’ve actually made these on occasion with protein powder, too–a nice alternative. I found I could decrease the fat content a bit by omitting the oil completely (not that coconut oil is bad, but it’s just more fat in the recipe). 🙂

    Reply
  2. I am really impressed together with your writing talents and also with the layout for your weblog. Is that this a paid topic or did you customize it your self? Either way stay up the nice quality writing, it’s uncommon to see a nice blog like this one nowadays..

    Reply
  3. I’m now not positive where you are getting your information, however good topic. I must spend a while studying much more or figuring out more. Thank you for fantastic info I used to be in search of this info for my mission.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

